Pilates Alliance of Australasia - AGM

Date: 16/9/17

Venue: International Convention Centre Darling Harbour

Meeting opened at 1555

Meeting concluded at 1635

Attendees

PAA committee members: Jen Guest (President), Sharan Simmons (Vice President), Jeremy Hunt (Treasurer), Mary McArthur (Secretary), Committee members Chris Lavelle, Kristy Smith, Ella Wong, Raphael Bender, Mariana Tolj, Melissa Barry and Helen Stamatakos.

Systems Officer Kerry Haywood and 48 members of the PAA.

Apologies

Arwen McCutcheon, Carolyn Antony (Member Relations Officer), Kathy Miller, Helen Tardent, Annebé Pettersen and Christine Green

Minutes of previous AGM

18 November 2016

Approved by the members (proposed Lisa Anthony/seconded Sharan Simmons).

President's report

President's report was presented at the meeting

Jen Guest spoke to her report outlining the major achievements for the year and by way of a Powerpoint presentation, outlined the *Work Plan 2018* which identified three major priorities for 2018

Further to these priorities, the committee will maintain the ongoing projects already underway, as well as continuing to manage the day to day operations of the association at the best level possible.

The President's report was accepted by the members (proposed Sally Anderson/seconded Cat Giannitto).

Treasurer's report

The Treasurer presented the PAA financial reports

Sound financial systems, established during the past year are now in place and operating smoothly.

The Treasurer tabled his report and all related financial statements

Total income: \$200,344.61

Total operating expenses: \$167,989.43

Net profit: \$32,355.18 Total equity: \$174,368

The Auditor's report has been received with financial statements and reports for the year ended 30 June 2017 .

The Treasurer's report was approved by the members (proposed Bruce Hildebrand/seconded Melissa Barry).

PAA Committee

Vacancies occurred due to Melissa Barry, Mariana Tolj and Kristy Smith stepping down from the committee and Chris Lavelle seeking re-election for a further 3 year term.

Three nominations were received: Chris Lavelle, Lisa Jackson and Jo Bezzina.

No election was required as sufficient nominations were received to fill vacancies (constitution states that ...'there must be at least three ordinary members' on the committee.

Those three nominees were therefore deemed elected and we now have six ordinary members.

Committee for 2018 is as follows:

President - Jen Guest

Vice President - Sharan Simmons

Secretary - Mary McArthur

Treasurer - Jeremy Hunt

Ordinary Members: Chris Lavelle, Ella Wong, Helen Stamatakos, Jo Bezzina, Lisa Jackson and Raphael Bender.

Question Time

Sally Anderson asked for clarification regarding acceptance of committee 2018 without the need for elections. Jen Guest clarified that as nominations equalled the vacancies all were deemed elected and current sitting members not needing to seek re-election remain on the committee for the coming year, as their terms of 3 years are still active.

Other business

Melissa Mazzarino (PAA research grant recipient) presented an update on her research project *Pilates exercises for low-risk pregnant women: a feasibility study.*

Notes